IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society James D. Meindl Innovators Award

Award Information

This award was established in 2021

This award supports innovation in the field of solid-state circuits by funding projects that build excitement around the field among future generations, encouraging their participation, and awarding applicants whose project proposals are selected. Project examples include, but are not limited to: design activities that engage students at the pre-college or undergraduate level, and/or teams from under-represented groups; development of tools that provide broad access to design and simulation resources; and projects that expand the application of solid-state circuits technology to new areas

This is an annual award and up to 10 applicants may be recognized in a single year, based on the availability of funds in the James D. Meindl Memorial Educational Fund and the approval of the SSCS AdCom. Applicant must be a current SSCS member in good standing, with an initial join date at least in the previous calendar year. This award will be given annually only if a suitable awardee or awardees are identified.

Each recipient receives a development grant of up to $20,000 to support the recipient’s project proposal, plus a plaque and a $5,000 honorarium. Each recipient shall submit a report on project outcomes no later than 18 months following receipt of the award, and the report shall be subject to an audit by the Society.

There will be an open call for applications via the primary communication channels of the Solid-State Circuits Society.  Applications must be received in the year prior to the year the award is presented.  The deadline for applying for the inaugural award is December 22nd (DEADLINE EXTENDED); winners will be notified by January 15th.

The SSCS Award Committee will appoint a sub-committee of experts to evaluate applications as to whether the applicant’s contribution is significant and merits consideration for the Award.

This award will be presented at the International Solid-State Circuits Conference.


Submission Instructions

A platform called OpenWater is required to upload application packages. For detailed instructions on how to use the OpenWater platform, CLICK HERE

The following materials must be uploaded as part of the application package:

(1) a one-page description of the applicant’s accomplishments and involvement in the field of solid-state circuits. (PDF only, 25 MB Max)
(2) a one-page plan to engage the next generation of IC designers. (PDF only, 25 MB Max)
(3) a one-page financial plan; and (4) two letters of recommendation from people familiar with the applicant. (PDF only, 25 MB Max)

Incomplete application packages will not be accepted or considered. 




Important Dates and Deadlines

The 2022 Application deadline is December 22, 2021 - DEADLINE EXTENDED

If you have any questions, please contact Lauren Caruso, SSCS Administrator,