Distinguished Service Award

Award Information

Established in 2018, this award recognizes exceptional and distinguished service to the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society.

The SSCS Award Committee or its appointed sub-committee shall evaluate nominations as to whether the nominee’s contribution is significant and merits consideration for the award. A slate of selected nominees will be presented by the Awards Chair to the SSCS Administrative Committee and the winner will be selected by the SSCS Administrative Committee by vote.

The award will be given during the IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC), for each year a recipient is chosen by the Awards Committee.

Those who receive this award must be a current SSCS Member in good standing. Past Society Presidents cannot be nominated prior than 4 years after the end of their term as President.

For more information, contact SSCS Awards Chair, John Corcoran.

2022 IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Lewis Terman was born and raised on the Stanford University campus and received his B.S. in Physics and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering in 1956, 1958, and 1961 respectively.

He then began a 45-year career at the IBM Research Center in New York, working on semiconductor technology, solid state circuits, semiconductor memory and technology, digital and analog circuits, and processor design. He was elected to the IBM Academy of Technology in 1991 and served as its President 2001–2002. At IBM, he received nine major technical Awards, including three Corporate Awards.

He also has been heavily involved with the IEEE, serving as President of the Solid-State Circuits Society and the Electron Devices Society, Awards Board Chair, Chair of the Technical Activities Board, the 2008 IEEE President, where he initiated the IEEE focus on humanitarian applications of technology. He is currently the Secretary of the IEEE Society on Social Implications of Technology.

He is an IEEE Fellow, and received the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Award, the SSIT Brian O’Connell Award, the TAB Hall of Honor, the IEEE Richard E. Emberson Award, and is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering.

Lewis Terman

Lewis Terman

Harry E. Mussman received the B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan, Northwestern University and Stanford University in 1968, 1971 and 1977, respectively.

At AT&T Bell Laboratories from 1969 until 1990, he was responsible for the design of digital service circuits for the 5ESS(TM) Switch, architecture studies of switching systems, and broadband digital switching technology. Mr. Mussman joined GTE Laboratories in 1990 where he was responsible for the architecture and design of digital switching systems for video applications and on broadband network architecture. In 1998 he transferred to GTE Internetworking (later Genuity) where he focused on network architecture and planning of Genuity’s voice over IP network. In 2003, he joined a startup, BridgePort Networks, as its Voice-over-IP Architect. From 2008 until 2013, he was Senior Systems Engineer at BBN Technologies on the NSF-supported Global Environment for Network Innovation (GENI) project. He retired in 2013, and stays busy in local organizations working towards sustainability and climate change mitigation.

Mr. Mussman is a long-standing member of the IEEE. From 1990 through 1992 he was editor of the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits. From 1994 through 1996 he was President of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Council, as its transition to the Solid-State Circuits Society was finalized.

Harry Mussman

Harry Mussman

Robert G. Swartz received the S.B. degree from M.I.T., and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University, all in Electrical Engineering. At Bell Laboratories in Holmdel, NJ., he designed high speed devices and integrated circuits for fiber optic communications. There, he was a leader of efforts investigating advanced bipolar and BiCMOS circuits, devices and process technologies, and became head of the High Speed Electronics Research Department. He served on the Executive Board of the International Solid-State Circuits Conference and as a Program Committee member of the Symposium on VLSI Circuits. Later he was a member of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Council, and then a co-founder and first President of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society. More recently, he was General Manager of the High Frequency Products business unit of Linear Technology Corp. He now does business and technical consulting for the semiconductor industry and enjoys fiddling with interesting electronics. He is an IEEE Fellow and holder of the IEEE Millennium Medal.

Robert Swartz

Robert Swartz

Past Recipients

Year Recipients Category
2020 No Recipient
2019  Anantha Chandrakasan Service and dedication as the Conference Chair of the International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC) from 2010-2018.