IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society Innovative Education Award


Award Information

Established in 2019, this award will recognize and honor SSCS members in their early/mid-career, who are making significant contributions to education in the field of solid-state circuits using innovative approaches.  The award aims to highlight distinguished and unique educational methods or programs that have a broad impact on the education of our community.  Some examples include, but are not limited to, education with outreach beyond the candidate’s institution, unique teaching methods via a variety of media more appealing to the current and future generations of students, motivational lab development, open source textbooks or lectures, open-source software development, instruction that reaches out to high-school students and teachers, and programs geared toward a diverse group of students, among others.

Those who receive this award must be a current SSCS Member in good standing. 

This award will be given annually to one winner, but only if a suitable awardee is identified.  The winner of this award will receive a plaque and honorarium of $5,000.   

The call for nominations will be made in our primary member communications, the Solid-State Circuits Magazine and Society Newsletter, or other member-wide communications tool that may be employed in the future. The nomination package consists of: (1) a one to two-page description of the candidate’s current educational contributions in the field of solid-state circuits; (2) a list of publications, classes or programs that support the nomination; (3) a maximum of three letters of recommendation from people familiar with the candidate’s educational contributions.

This award will be managed by the SSCS Awards Committee, which consists of an appointed Chair, who will select additional members of the Committee or appoint sub-committees as needed to manage the award winner selection.

Award candidates will be accepted during the year prior to the year the award is to be presented.  The deadline for candidates will be September 30th.  The winner of the award will be notified by December 1 in the year prior to the year the award is to be presented to allow the recipient to prepare travel arrangements to the conference where he/she has chosen to receive the award.   

The SSCS Awards Committee or its appointed sub-committee shall evaluate nominations as to whether the nominee’s contribution is significant and merits consideration.  A slate of selected nominees will be presented by the Awards Chair to the SSCS Administrative Committee and the winner will be selected by the SSCS Administrative Committee by vote. 

This award will be presented at the plenary session of one of the SSCS financially sponsored conferences, at the choice of the recipient.


Submission Instructions

A platform called OpenWater is required to upload nomination packages. For detailed instructions on how to use the OpenWater platform, CLICK HERE

The following materials must be uploaded as part of the nomination package:

1). One - two-page description of the candidate's current educational contributions in the field of solid-state circuits (PDF only, 25 MB Max)

2). List of the candidate's publications, classes, or programs that support the nomination (PDF only, 25 MB Max)

In addition, letters of recommendation must be submitted (maximum of three letters, PDF only, 25 MB Max). The nominator will submit names of those providing a letter of recommendation in the OpenWater system, and then the OpenWater system will send an email to those people asking them to upload their letter of recommendation. 



2021 IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society Innovative Education Award 

The recipient of the 2021 IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society Innovative Education Award is Payam Heydari.


PH Photo

Payam Heydari (M’01, SM’09, F17) received his B.S. and M.S. degrees (Honors) in Electrical Engineering from Sharif University of Technology in 1992 and 1995, respectively. He received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Southern California in 2001. He is currently a Full Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine. Dr. Heydari's research covers the design of millimeter-wave, RF, and analog integrated circuits. He is the (co)-author of two books, two book chapters, and more than 150 journal and conference papers. He was a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (Jan. 2014 – Jan. 2016) and is now a Distinguished Microwave Lecturer of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (Jan. 2019 – Dec. 2022). His research group was among the first who introduced the design of millimeter-wave integrated circuits in silicon technologies. They demonstrated the first fundamental frequency CMOS end-to-end transceiver operating above 200 GHz.

Dr. Heydari was selected as the inaugural Faculty Innovation Fellow by the University of California, Irvine (UCI) Beall Applied Innovation. Dr. Heydari is a recipient of the 2016-2017 UCI’s School of Engineering Mid-Career Excellence in Research, the 2014 Distinguished Engineering Educator Award from Orange County Engineering Council, the 2009 Business Plan Competition First Place Prize Award and Best Concept Paper Award both from Paul Merage School of Business at UC-Irvine, the 2010 Faculty of the Year Award from UC-Irvine's Engineering Student Council (ECS), the 2009 School of Engineering Best Faculty Research Award, the 2007 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Guillemin-Cauer Award, the 2005 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Darlington Award, the 2005 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, the 2005 Henry Samueli School of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award, and the Best Paper Award at the 2000 IEEE Int'l Conference on Computer Design (ICCD). He was recognized as the 2004 Outstanding Faculty in the EECS Department of the University of California, Irvine. His research on novel low-power multi-purpose multi-antenna RF front-ends received the Low-Power Design Contest Award at the 2008 IEEE Int'l Symposium on Low-Power Electronics and Design (ISLPED).


Dr. Heydari currently serves an Associate Editor of both IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits and IEEE Solid-State Circuits Letters. He was on the steering committee of the 2020 International Microwave Symposium, and was a member of Technical Program Committee of many conferences including International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC) and Custom Integrated Circuits Conference (CICC). He was an Associate Editor of IEEE Trans. on Circuits and Systems – Part I. He currently serves on the AdCom of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society and a member of Solid-State Circuits Direction (SSCD). 


Past Recipients

2020 Professor Peter Kinget, Columbia University, New York