Upcoming Webinars

SSCS Webinar Series - Professional Development, Networking, and Career Growth

We are proud to offer leading experts and advanced topics exclusively to our SSCS members.

< Back to events

Advancing Technology and Innovation: A Journey to IEEE Fellowship

11 AM ET
Webinar - Online
Aeisha VanBuskirk – a.vanbuskirk@ieee.org
Web site

Abstract: Join us for an exclusive webinar as we explore the journey to becoming an IEEE Fellow—a prestigious recognition in the field of technology and innovation. This webinar will provide invaluable insights into the IEEE Fellow application process, share success stories from esteemed IEEE Fellows, and offer guidance on how to make significant contributions to the IEEE community.  The panel will discuss the difference between applying as a Research Engineer/Scientist vs. a Technical Leader and will share a rubric to determine which nomination category your contributions would fit best. The panelists will also explain best practices for a nominator to create the strongest nomination package for their candidate.  If you even have a little curiosity about becoming an IEEE Fellow please join us!


Moderator: Kathy Wilcox

Kathryn Wilcox received her B.S.E.E. from Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, in 1990. She is an AMD Senior Fellow on the CPU Core team. Her research focuses on design technology co-optimization, libraries, environment, and methodology for future CPU cores.  She is currently serving as the Treasurer for the IEEE Solid-State Circuit Society.



Ms. Wanda Gass

Wanda Gass, a Texas Instruments Fellow (now retired) who helped develop Texas Instruments first programmable digital signal processor (DSP). Wanda’s focus at TI was on customized microprocessor architectures that combined special purpose hardware and software solutions for multimedia and communication applications. She was elevated to IEEE Fellow in 2007 and inducted into the Consumer Technology Association Hall of Fame in 2022.  She is also an advocate for girls and young women pursuing careers in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) programs.  



Dr. Vivek De

Intel Fellow and Director of Circuit Technology research in Intel Labs. Vivek is responsible for leading and inspiring long-term research in future circuit technologies and design techniques for system-on-chip (SoC) designs with focus on energy efficiency. He is the recipient of the 2019 IEEE Circuits and System Society (CASS) Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award for “pioneering contributions to leading-edge performance and energy-efficient microprocessors & many-core system-on-chip (SoC) designs” and the 2020 IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) Industry Impact Award for “seminal impact and distinctive contributions to the field of solid-state circuits and the integrated circuits industry”.  Vivek was elevated to IEEE Fellow in 2011.


Professor Howard Luong

Howard Luong received his BS, MS, and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences (EECS) from University of California at Berkeley. He is currently a professor in the department of Electronics and Computer Engineering at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.  In 2014, he was appointed as the first MediaTek Endowed Visiting Professor in IC Design at Nanyang Technology University in Singapore. Professor Luong's research interests are in RF and mm-Wave integrated circuits and systems for wireless and portable applications.  Professor Luong is an IEEE Fellow.  He has been an Associate Editor of IEEE Solid-State Circuits Letters (SSCL), and he was an IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society Distinguished Lecturer from 2012 to 2014.


Register Here