Past Webinars

< Back to events

SSCS Young Professionals Webinar for Young Excellence: Grant Proposal Writing Tips and Strategies: Securing Funds for your Brilliant Research Idea

11:00 AM ET
Webinar - Online
Abira Altvater –
Prof. Jane Gu, Prof. Dennis Sylvester, Prof. Mohamad Sawan


Abstract: You have a research idea in mind that you think is promising and trail-blazing. To start to implement your idea, you need money for buying equipment, fabricating the chips and circuit boards, hiring students, etc. So you need to write a proposal to get funding from potential sources. Particularly for young researchers, getting the first funding is a key enabler for continuous research career. Yet, writing a grant proposal is time-consuming, stressful, and can be desperate. It is also very different from writing a paper or a project report. What is the “secret” behind a successful grant proposal? With so many kinds of funding options, how do you know which ones should you apply? How can you tailor your application to a specific agency? Industrial funding or government funding? How to deal with rejections? In this panel, we invite three senior faculty members to discuss the writing tips and strategies of a grant proposal and answer these questions. Through this webinar, you will learn tips and strategies to maximize your chances of attracting your first funding as an independent researcher. A live Q&A section will be followed in the end.
Dr. Jane Gu received Ph.D. from University of California, Los Angeles in 2007. She started her academia career at the University of Florida in 2010, then transferred to the University of California, Davis in 2012 where she is now a professor. Her research interest includes high efficiency and low power interconnect, and mm-wave/sub-mm-wave integrated circuits and systems for different applications. She is a recipient of NSF CAREER award, UC Davis Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, Qualcomm Faculty Award, and UC Davis Chancellor’s Fellow. Her group work has been awarded nine best paper awards from international conferences. She is a TPC member of solid state conferences RFIC, CICC and ISSCC.
Dennis Sylvester is the Edward S. Davidson Collegiate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. His main research interests are in the design of miniaturized ultra-low power microsystems, touching on analog, mixed-signal, and digital circuits. He has published over 500 articles and holds 51 US patents in these areas. His research has been commercialized via three major venture capital funded startup companies; Ambiq Micro, Cubeworks, and Mythic. He has received fourteen best paper awards and nominations and was named a Top Contributing Author at ISSCC and most prolific author at IEEE Symposium on VLSI Circuits. He is currently an Associate Editor for IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits, was previously an elected member of the Administrative Committee for IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS), and was an IEEE SSCS Distinguished Lecturer for 2016-2017. He received his PhD in Electrical Engineering from UC-Berkeley, and held research staff positions at Synopsys and Hewlett-Packard Laboratories as well as visiting professorships at the National University of Singapore and Nanyang Technological University. He is an IEEE Fellow for contributions to energy-efficient integrated circuits.
Mohamad Sawan is a Chair Professor in Westlake University, Hangzhou, China, and Emeritus Professor in Polytechnique Montreal, Canada. He is founder and director of the Cutting-Edge Net of Biomedical Research And INnovation (CenBRAIN) in Westlake University, and of the Polystim Neurotech Lab in Polytechnique Montreal. He was awarded the Canada Research Chair in Smart Medical Devices, and was leading the Microsystems Strategic Alliance of Quebec, Canada. Dr. Sawan published more than 900 peer reviewed papers. He received the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal, the Zhejiang Westlake Friendship Award. He is Fellow of the IEEE, Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and “Officer” of the National Order of Quebec.


Click here to register!