Circuit Analysis & Design Contest

The IEEE Solid-State Circuit Society launched a Circuit Analysis and Design Contest in the Fall of 2017.

The winners are below. Please check back soon for future contests. 


Winners of the SSCS 2017- 2018 Circuit Analysis and Design Contest 

The three contestants with the best answers to the problem are:

Hatem Osman, Texas A&M University, Texas

Junyoung Maeng, Korea University, Republic of Korea

Maarten Baert, ESAT-MICAS, KU Leuven, Belgium


The following contestants found the correct solution to the problem:

Aleksandr Vasjanov, Vilnius Gediminas Technical University, Lithuania

Alireza Yousefi, University of California, Los Angeles

Amit Patil, Indian Institute of Technology, India

Aviral Pandey, University of California, Berkeley

Eric Gutierrez, Carlos III University of Madrid

Farzad Khoeini, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Li Xuan, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

Longheng Luo, Fudan University, China

Mahmoud Mahdipour, University of Pavia, Italy

Meera Kumari, Massey University, New Zealand

Sheng-Kai Chang, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

Supriyo Maji, Purdue University, Indiana

Umesh Jagtap, Savitribai Phule Pune University, India

William Tedjo, Colorado State Unviersity, Colorado

Zhijian Liang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong 


Design Problem 


(a) Design a continuous-time, memoryless, time-invariant circuit that provides the input-output characteristic shown below (The characteristic need not be a sinusoidal function.)  Note that the horizontal axis is Vin and not time.


(b) Simulate the circuit using a 1-V supply. The challenge is to maximize the swing V0.  The circuit must be simulated in LTSPICE using the MOS device models. A free copy of LTSPICE is avaliable below


The design problem can also be viewed via this PDF. Please click here to view.