2021 SSCS Members-at-Large Election Process

Nominations Process - 2022-2024 Members-at-Large

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2021 Election Cycle of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society Administrative Committee of "AdCom" for short. Each year, in the Fall, five of the fifteen members of the AdCom are elected in a rotation pattern to renew one-third of our Members-at-Large.  

At this time, nominations are being accepted from our general membership for the 2022 – 2024 Members-at-Large.
If you know of an individual (must be a current SSCS Member in good standing) that you feel would be a worthy choice to serve in this representative role, please submit your nomination for consideration to SSCS-Elections@ieee.org by February 28th, 2021. Please include the nominee's full name and email address. We will then reach out to the nominee to gather the required documents.
If you have any questions, please email the Society Administrative Office at SSCS-Elections@ieee.org.

Petition Process for AdCom Candidacy

If a Society Member was not on the announced slate, they can petition to be on the slate. 

Society members who are interested in nominating a colleague(s), or themselves, by petition should notify the SSCS Executive Office by email (sscs-elections@ieee.org) no later than August 1 of a given year, and include a statement verifying the nominee's agreement to be a candidate. Once a petitioner's eligibility is verified, he/she may be posted to the petition site until  September 1, when the petition process closes. 

Any voting member of the Society may sign such petitions in either one of two ways:

1) via a link to the petition site provided on this webpage or

2) with an original signature on a hard copy petition.

Hard copy petitions must be received by the SSCS Executive office by 31 August to be entered into the IEEE petition system.

There is no official IEEE hard copy petition form for society elections. Each handwritten petition form must include:

  • the name of the candidate
  • the title of the position the candidate is running for

For each person signing the petition:

  • name (printed)
  • IEEE member number
  • signature

If all the signatures on the petition are valid  -- .e., active members with their dues paid -- the petition candidate's name, biography, and photo will appear online and on the printed ballot.

 A petition candidate needs approximately 200 signatures of SSCS members in good standing -- or about 2%  of the membership --  to qualify for the slate, as defined by IEEE Bylaw I-308.16 as of 31 December, 2011. Signatures are verified during the petition process (additional signatures above the minimum are recommended as a safety factor).