Follow: Share:Share

2010 February Actions

IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society Administrative Committee
Attachments from the meeting Sunday 7-Feb-2010 at the San Francisco Marriott Hotel.

Decisions Voted on 7-Feb-10

Motion 1: To elect H-S. Lee as Treasurer for the Society. The motion passed.

Motion 2: To elect P. J. Hurst as Secretary for the Society. The motion passed.

Motion 3: To approve the following to serve as members of the nominations committee: Willy Sansen, Chair; Dick Jaeger, Tadahiro Kuroda, Bram Nauta, Ian Young, Bernhard Boser, and Rakesh Kumar. The motion passed.

Motion 4: To advance $600k for ISSCC 2011. The motion passed.

Motion 5: To approve technically co-sponsored conferences:
a) 5 year approval (with yearly review) of: ESSCIRC, VLSI TSA/DA, DAC, DATE, HOTCHIPS, and RFIC
b) 1 year approval of ISLPED.
The motion passed.

Motion 6: That the JSSC scope be accepted as stated below:
“The IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits publishes papers each month in the broad area of solid-state circuits with particular emphasis on transistor-level design of integrated circuits. It also provides coverage of topics such as device modelling, technology, systems design, layout, and testing that relate directly to IC design. Integrated circuits and VLSI are of principal interest; material related to discrete circuit design is seldom published. Experimental verification is strongly encouraged.”
The motion passed.

Motion 7: That a Page Budget of 3200 pages be approved for the JSSC for the year 2011. The motion passed.

Motion 8: That Un-Ku Moon be approved as the new editor for the JSSC starting August 1, 2010. The motion passed.

Motion 9: That a Page Budget of 336 pages be approved for the SSC Magazine for the year 2011. The motion passed.

Motion 10: To budget $10k more than in the present 2010 distinguished lecturer (DL) budget for a DL tour in 2010 to chapters that would otherwise have difficulty in getting speakers otherwise. The motion passed.

Motion 11: To budget $40k for the distinguished lecturers for 2011. The motion passed.

Motion 12: To allocate $25k over the present 2010 budget for pre-doctoral fellowship(s) for 2010. The motion passed.

Note: The remaining linked information will require a secure authentication. Contact the Society Executive office for logon.



  1. Nominations Committee -- Willy Sansen
  2. Society Review -- Willy Sansen
  3. Financial Report -- Harry Lee
  4. ISSCC -- Annantha Chandrakasan
  5. Symposium on VLSI Circuits -- David Scott
  6. CICC -- David Nairn
  7. A-SSCC -- Takyasu Sakurai
  8. Meetings Committee -- Bill Bidermann
  9. JSSC -- Bram Nauta
  10. Magazine -- Mary Lanzerotti post meeting presentation
  11. Publications -- Glenn Gulak
  12. Chapters -- Jan vand der Spiegel
  13. Education -- Ken Yang
  14. Graduates of the Last Decade -- Sean Nicoloson -- Emre Ayranci
  15. Awards -- John Corcoran
  16. Nanotechnology Council -- Ian Young
  17. Electronic Design Automation Council -- Bryan Ackland
  18. Sensors Council -- Darrin Young
  19. Engineering Technology Management Council -- Rakesh Kumar
  20. Financial Implications of today's actions -- Harry Lee
  21. For distribution but not discussed
    IEEE Milestone applications, SPICE -- Dave Hodges
    Biometrics Council -- Wanda Gass